Not the tallest guy on the block a tale of cousins

Forgive me readers for I have sinned, I’m not the tallest person on my mom’s side of the family. When my great aunt passed away at Alzheimer’s amd Dementia, I took a vow to get closer her grandson Steven  Although he grew up on the east coast and I grew up on the west coast we think like brothers.

  • Describe your early childhood and what you watched and read Steve: Harry Potter books read with Goblet of Fire being read, bed sheets, curtains, going to the beach and having read. Read 5 on his own.
  • Describe your Grandma in your own words: SteveL Caring, Looking at for each one of her friends and family, fashionable, well dressed, and loved her a lot
  • Was Steve ever bullied? He wouldn’t go far as to say he
    On Sun, Apr 19, 2020 at 8:17 PM Sam Kanter <sambkanter@gmail.com> wrote:
    1. Were you ever bullied and at what age? – I think I was very fortunate to grow up without really being bullied. There were moments of kids being mean, calling me names, or being physical. But I wouldn’t go as far as saying I was bullied.
    2. At what age did you were LGBTQ and how did you come out? – I first realized I was gay in the seventh grade. It took me three years to finally come out to my friends then another three years until I came out to my family. There was no big moment to me coming out; it just happened.
    3. What are your hobbies as an adult and interests – I’m very involved in theater. I’m the technical director of Rockville Musical Theater. I also enjoy to ski and hike when I can!
    4. What are your favorite memories of us together. – I always remember hanging out with you at all the family events. It was so much fun running around and playing with all the cousins. I loved going to any family reunion.
    5. Favorite Movies, TV and books now. – My all time favorite book is Catcher in the Rye, and my all time favorite movie is the first Pirates of the Caribbean.
    6. Favorite things to have for breakfast, lunch and dinner and desert – Chipotle, Chipotle, Chipotle
    7. What do we have in common besides family. – Definitely our sense of humor and love for Harry Potter!
    8. What advice would you give to someone who didn’t know they were LGBT – Be your true self always. Never worry about what other people think. I spent a lot of time in my life changing the way I acted or changing what I wanted to do to please other people. It’s important to do what you want and be who you.
    9. Who is your role model on the Autism Spectrum (It’s ok to answer me) – You are my role model Sam. You are so kind and compassionate, have an amazing sense of humor, and care deeply for your friends and family.
    10. What would you show me in DC – First we would walk around and see all the monuments, the go to one or two museums, and finally out for some delicious dinner – I know the best ramen place in the city.
    11. What was it like seeing me perform my stand up – I was dying of laughter and I would love to see it again!
    So what will I show Steve when he comes for a visit? Well Archie McPhee and there’s a Chinese place where we can go. There’s a pinball museum in Seattle and I think he’d go into a food coma after trying my Mexican food. There are two sub styles I came up with. I might have a hard time showing him the space needle.

Both Steven and myself were sorted into Ravenclaw and it shows. Ravenclaws are known for their wit, creativity and intelligence. The two Potter books I was given were Prisoner of Azkaban and Goblet of Fire. Steve’s Grandmother may be gone but he and I will stand by each other. Although he might not have any siblings, I kind of wish Steve did live out here because his dad and my mom were first cousins and we share the same set of great grandparents. His dad is the youngest of the baby boomers but he produced the tallest millennial and even though I might not be able to see him as often as I’d like, The Eevee I have that’s cosplaying as Harry Potter and the Squirtle Malfoy pin I have might be for two recipes but it also reminds me to keep my inner 12 year old alive.

There’s a 4 year gap between us and a 3 inch difference. But now that we’re both over the age of 18, It’d be fun to go visit each other on our own terms. Once COVID lets up my pipe dreams with him are to go to Greece, Russia, Australia and Japan with Nelson at my side.

As you read, Steve’s a big guy when it comes to Mexican and with two substyles and a cousin who is a comedian, theater geek and master chef. He won’t be going hungry anytime soon!

Not the tallest guy on the block a tale of cousins

One thought on “Not the tallest guy on the block a tale of cousins

Leave a comment