Autobiography to this point

ImageSo… You wanna know about me do ya? Well,  here’s everything you need to know about me up until this point in my life. Well I’m about to turn 25, I was raised by Jewish parents and while I consider myself Jewish culturally, I don’t identify it with it religiously. But when I was 4, I was first diagnosed with Asperger Syndrome. My father was angry because they didn’t look at my eyes. When I was a little, Power Rangers was my bread and butter. Why is this important? We’ll get to that later. But for now, just keep that in the corner of your mind. 

When I was 10 years old, I began collecting action figures. What kind of action figures you may ask? Anything! Pokemon, Digimon, etc. I also started getting into anime. I also made my first close friend. Unfortunately he had to move away the summer I was going into 6th Grade. But man, looking back what a mixed bag Junior High and High School were for me. In 7th Grade, I was to have my Bar Mitzvah but my teacher tried to cancel it. But to no avail. It was a good day for me and I still remember what my Torah portion was about. Following the rules

In 8th Grade, I fell into a deep depression and went to a school for the learning disabled. It was brought to my father’s attention that I have Asperger Syndrome. But this time, Dad accepted the diagnosis and moved on. However, this diagnosis of Asperger Syndrome is partially true. But at that school, I did make some friends. So kudos to that school for getting some aspects right. Also remember me talking about my collection? Well the summer I was going into 9th grade, I was interviewed for it. 

9th Grade was when I was a bit skeptical of the disabled school, but what I remember most about my Freshman year of high school was 3 things. I first met my friend Shawn and I got my Letterman’s jacket. I lettered in skiing for the record. With the first I’m still in touch with him. He’s one of my college buddies. Plus for my 15th birthday we went to see Hidalgo and had Pizza. Because I forgot to mention this earlier, I may as well now, I am a huge foodie and cinephile. A foodie is someone who is enthusiastic about all sorts of different foods and a cinephile is someone who loves movies. The 3rd and final thing I remember is I heard Gandhi’s grandson speak. Talk about surreal. 

Sophomore Year also had some pretty amazing moments. I started studying Spanish. But that’s not the most amazing thing, on the 3rd anniversary of 9/11, I was asked to take part and represent the Jewish faith at an interfaith service. I gave a speech recapping my experience hearing Gandhi’s grandson’s talk and my personal ties to 9/11. Believe me or not but I was actually in New York Labor Day Weekend 2001. I was there getting a prayer shawl for my Bar Mitzvah.

Junior Year I left the disabled school behind and rejoined public school. I set out to make a name for myself. My health teacher, wanted us each to teach the class on a topic. I chose Asperger Syndrome, I revealed that I happened to have it. During that year, I also met my mentor, he loves movies as much as I do. Another thing you probably don’t know about me is I love World Cultures. The school opened up a Multi-Cultural club and I was its first president. Shortly after I became president, I met a Jennifer Garner look-alike. She introduced me to someone who looked up to me. I entered a school comedy competition and even though I lost, I still had fun.

Senior Year I had a difficult time but I still pulled through despite the hell that year was. But when I got through, I was relieved. I graduated with honors and made it through. As a graduation present, Mom took me to Israel. While that was all fine and dandy, I wanted to go to Japan. But beggars can’t be choosers. After graduating in September 2007, my parents filed for a divorce. I took it pretty hard. 

But now we’re getting to the good stuff, my 20’s. For my 20th birthday, My mom and I adopted a dog, A Pomeranian/Chihuahua mix who we named Fuzzy.Image Fuzzy was the first dog that truly felt like mine. He came into our lives in March 2009. The other big thing happened. Remember how I said as a kid Power Rangers was my life, well I started learning about Tokusatsu. Which is Kamen Rider and Super Sentai, the latter of the two would eventually make its way into becoming Power Rangers. 

2010 was a mixed bag for me. Fuzzy passed away that February of a seizure of which he never recovered. I fell into a depression again. But at the end it really hurt me. But on the upside, December two things happened; I began going to leadership seminars and those helped me grow. But the other thing is much more personal. I got to tour Israel and that was a lot of fun. During the tour, I met someone who would grow to be a really close friend. My knowledge of Power Rangers helped her to understand the series. Upon returning home, I asked out someone of which the relationship lasted a year and a half but it was probably not the best fit for me.

2012 was the ultimate in game changing events for me, I started donating blood that January and have been donating constantly ever since. I also moved out in October and have been living independently since then. June 2013 I earned my 1 gallon donation pin. As I finish this up, It’s January 2014 and I’m a fortnight away from my 12th donation. That’s my life in a nutshell. Stick around for more reviews on Tokusatsu, Anime, Cartoons and Movies

Later Folks

Sam

Autobiography to this point

Leave a Reply

